brave (part 1)

January 25, 2011 § Leave a comment

A while back, on a social forum I belong to, we were talking about blogs – having them, updating them, what they’re for, audience, etc. Over the course of a long and derailing thread I mentioned that I had started blogging under my own name. Someone in that thread suggested that I was brave for doing so. After all, feminist women who blog under their own names, and indeed any women who receive enough public attention start getting attacked. People threaten to rape them or kill them or kill their families. A note: most of these links are to or about cis white women. The women of color that I know have received threats, their blogs are down. I have no doubt that it is much worse for women of color and trans women.

Now I have maybe 20 readers on a good day.  A banner day and I’m still under 100. Becoming a target is still a risk, however slight. A bigger risk is that someone finds out about my depression or something (hi there future employer!) and decides I’m unemployable.

I blog because I’m a writer, and writers write. I blog because I have things to say in public. I blog because I don’t need anyone’s permission to do so. But blogging under my own name is not particularly brave. Even if I was pseudo-anonymous, a determined hater could figure out who I am. This way, I at least get credit for my work. And this way no one can find me out and confront me with things I’m trying to keep secret.  (OMG! I’m political!)

There is so much violence out there. I’m still trying to figure out what I want to say about the Giffords shooting. But writing under my own name isn’t particularly brave. Writing in public is simply part of being fully alive.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading brave (part 1) at Biographical Solutions.

meta

