Fantasy? Goal? Attention Span?

June 21, 2010 § Leave a comment

I spend most of my time on the internet on feminist blogs, on Ravelry, and on Etsy.  It’s a trifecta of gendering.  Even my fantasies are gendered.  In them I do more than knit endless stockinette stitch and click around and think about blogging.  No, in these I finish every project that I start.  My determination outweighs my tiredness.  I am a Crafter, and I sell something fabulous on Etsy.  Something wondrous to wear because I love clothes (and fabric and poems and feminism, yeesh).  And this is my JOB!

My other dream, which I am slacking on right this very moment, is a Fulbright.  To Hungary.  To interview the women who make Kalocsa embroideries.  I want their stories and the stories of their families.  I want a book out of this.

I am further along here, though I still need a publisher.  I have been studying Hungarian for the last 18 months (it’s hard).  My mother’s family is from Hungary.  I have friends of friends in Hungary.  This can’t be classified as a dream anymore.  It’s a goal.  And I’ll be visiting Hungary soon to test my shaky pronunciation on unsuspecting cabdrivers and waitstaff throughout Budapest.

I’ll tell you something though: it’s hard to take concrete action on your goals the week before you get married.  Just saying.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fantasy? Goal? Attention Span? at Biographical Solutions.

meta

